Kale Chips

Holidays are about the two big F words. Neither is profane or pessimistic. No guesses? Family and Food. 

This Easter, after celebrating with my biological family in Rochester, I trekked back to the Hill for a second Easter feast, this time with a unique type of family. The college family can be described with countless adjectives, but no uniform definition. This particular family gathering, albeit eclectic, included a potluck, sports games and old-fashioned charcoal grill. 

Having already prepared my dish, I flounced around the house snapping photos, designating myself “family photographer.” Whilst on my photo frenzy, I came across Colin Martin and his infamous kale chips. I admit, I was skeptical, but papa taught me well with his favorite mantra, “try it, you might like it.” The mantra proved right again. Astounded, I rejoiced in the fact that I had finally discovered a way to prepare kale that omitted its organic bitter flavor. It was a chef’s fantasy – a tasty, reasonably healthy (kale is chock full of Vitamins K and C and calcium) concoction and a fellow chef willing to share his (or her) recipe. 

It is fairly simple:

1 – Sprinkle a pan with extra-virgin olive oil.

2 – Spread rinsed kale across the baking sheet, sprinkling additional oil over the top if desired. 

3 – Distribute desired spices and seasonings over the vegetable.

4 – Bake until crispy.

5 – Relish in the fact that you probably just had full servings of three crucial vegetables. 

Image

Leave a Reply

