Fall’s Favorite Flavor: Pumpkin

It starts with the pumpkin spiced latte, continues with breads and scones, and ends at the head of the Thanksgiving dinner table, in a form so sacred you’d think the pilgrims had it on that first fated meal. Welcome to pumpkin season, where mush and gush transforms from drab to craze as soon as September hits. 

A few weeks ago, I tried to ring fall in with a recipe for pumpkin frozen yogurt, which resulted in utter failure and an extra half can of pumpkin. It waited patiently in the fridge while I took my sweet time searching for the perfect pumpkin recipe. Ultimately, I gave up and decided to concoct my own: pumpkin peanut butter muffins.  

The experience marked many firsts. My first completely made up baking recipe (though I often experiment with cooking, baking requires more precision, so I often use at least a template). My first time using agave nectar. And my first bite of the year that satisfied my quench for fall’s favorite flavor: pumpkin.  

ImagePumpkin Peanut Butter Muffins

3/4 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 cup peanut butter

2/3 cup agave nectar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoons baking soda

2 eggs

1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup oats

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/3 cup applesauce

1 tablespoon canola oil

 

1 – Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease the pan.

2 – Mix the agave, vanilla and eggs in a bowl until smooth. Add other ingredients.

3 – Pour batter into muffin tins and bake until done, about 15-20 minutes. 

4 – Serve warm, with homemade cream cheese frosting. 

Leave a Reply

